+32 ( 0)3 369 0780

Diamond Shapes | Which diamond cut suits your tastes?

Our collection of diamond jewellery offers a choice in diamond shapes from marvellous marquise cut diamonds to romantic heart cut ones. The most common diamond shape, however, is without the round brilliant. This popular cut is the loved for its amazing radiance, especially in solitaire rings. But the round brilliant isn’t for everyone! If you want an exceptional piece of diamond jewellery you can opt for one of the various other diamond shapes that each has its own benefits.

In the lsit below you’ll find the most popular diamond shapes. We offer these as loose diamonds with the option to have it mounted, this way you can make a truly unique piece of jewellery your own! Want more information? Don’t hesitate to contact us!

The most popular diamond shapes

The Round Brilliant Diamond Cut:


The round brilliant is by far the most popular diamond shape and has the best angles for which to shine maximum brilliance. It has 57 facets

The Pear Diamond Cut:


When it comes to polishing and the trade, the pear cut occupies the second place after the brilliant. It is an intermediary shape between the brilliant and the marquise. Aesthetically, it is a very flattering diamond cut in the shape of a water drop. The round part glitters the most, while the luminosity has difficulty reflecting to the point because the angles of the bottom facets are no longer than 40 degrees

The Marquise Or Navette Diamond Cut:


This cut thanks its name to the Marquise of Pompadour: a legend relates that the Sun King would have had a stone polished according to the shape of the mouth of the Marquise of Pompadour. The elongated shape ends in a point at both extremities, the navette offers a very luminous centre, but loses its sparkle towards the points. The marquise cut is identical to the round brilliant diamond shape as regards the number of placement of the facets, but is more difficult. The construction of the facets requires a lot of experience and fragility of the sharp points demands utmost precaution.

The Emerald Or Octagonal Diamond Cut:


The emerald diamond cut is usually rectangular but older, square cuts are still around. It is a step-cut diamond; that is, it has rows of facets – usually 48 to 50 – that resemble as staircase and usually are four-sided or elongated. The typical size of a 1 carat rectangular Emerald Cut would be 7 by 5 mm.

The Oval Diamond Cut:


The oval’s technique name is ’oval modified brilliant’, based upon its shape and modifications of the traditional round brilliant configuration. The oval diamond shape was invented by Lazare Kaplan in the early 1960’s. 56 facets are typical for oval brilliants.

The Princess Diamond Cut:


The Princess is a brilliant-style shape with sharp, uncut corners. It is typically cut perfectly square, rather than as a rectangle. Brilliant style refers to vertical-direction crown and pavilion facets that are wide at the culet and narrowed toward the girdle, the opposite of the pavilion-facet arrangement on a curved-corner radiant. A Princess diamond cut generally has 76 facets, giving it more brilliance and fire than a round brilliant.

The Radiant Diamond Cut:


The riadiant diamond cut is another variant on the rectangular cut. It forms the basis of a whole series of diamond shapes derived from it ( such as the princess cut ).

The Heart Diamond Cut:


The technical name for this stone is the ’Heart-Shaped Modified Brilliant’, based upon its shape and modifications of the traditional round brilliant configuration. Heart-shaped brilliants typically contain 59 facets.